Northland Sports Online

Biondi Named Mr. Hockey




Hermantown senior forward Blake Biondi was named the Mr. Hockey Award winner on Sunday afternoon.

Biondi, who is committed to Minnesota-Duluth, is the first winner from greater Minnesota since 2014, when Avery Peterson of Grand Rapids was chosen.

Biondi scored 47 goals and added 48 assists for 95 points. He led the Hawks to overtime of the Class 1A state tournament championship game, where they fell to Mahtomedi. Biondi turned it up in the playoffs, posting 10 goals and nine assists in six postseason games.

The other award finalist were Jake Boltmann (Edina), Star Tribune Metro Player of the Year Matthew Gleason (Cretin-Derham Hall), Luke Gramer (Moorhead), Wyatt Kaiser (Andover), Blake Perbix (St. Cloud Cathedral), Carsen Richels (Blaine), Nate Schweitzer (Benilde-St. Margaret’)s, Grant Slukynsky (Warroad) and Ben Steeves (Eden Prairie).

Hudson Hodges of Moorhead won the Frank Brimsek Award, which recognizes Minnesota’s top senior goaltender. The other two finalists were Carter Clafton (Grand Rapids) and Remington Keopple (Hill-Murray).

Hodges, undecided on his college plans, went 19-7-1 this season with a 2.08 goals against average and a .922 saves percentage and four shutouts. He was the Spuds’ rock in goal and helped them to the Class 2A state tournament.

The 10 Mr. Hockey finalists for the Mr. Hockey Award, which was founded in 1985 and presented to the state’s most outstanding high school senior hockey player, and the three finalists for the Frank Brimsek Award, are selected by a group of National Hockey League scouts, Junior scouts, coaches and media members. Both awards are presented by the Minnesota All Sports Alliance.


Big Sandy Lodge LOGO[1]

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply