Northland Sports Online

Hawks Make it a Repeat


Dwight Cadwell – NSO


It was a game of huge momentum swings and opportunities capitalized. Defending Class A champion Hermantown (29-1-1), in their third consecutive overtime game of the tournament, capitalized last to defeat Monticello/Annandale/Maple Lake, 4-3, in double overtime.

The first period was dominated by Hermantown. They had a 15-1 shots-on-goal advantage and kept offensive pressure on the Moose most of the period. Momentum changed 52 seconds into the second period. Casey Chiodo, of Monticello/Annandale/Maple Lake (23-7-1), scored on their second shot of the game. Teammate Ben Ward scored a minute later. Hermantown responded less than 90 seconds later as Hawk’s Tyler Watkins beat Moose goalie, Tyler Klatt, to close the lead to 2-1.

Nick Zwack scored his fourth goal of the tournament just 26 seconds after the start of the third. Ben Ward saucered a pass over a Hawk defender to Zwack who flipped it up and over Hermantown goalie Cade McEwen to give the Moose a two-point advantage.

Hawks senior center Jesse Jacque took a pass from senior Ryan Sandelin to narrow the scoring margin. The Hawk’s tied the game at 11:25 of the third period with a goal off the stick of Tyler Watkins.

Hermantown’s Dylan Samberg took the puck directly off a face-off and his low shot caught the corner of the net with just 19.6 seconds left in the second overtime, giving the Hawk’s their second consecutive and third overall championship trophy.

Klatt was sensational in goal for the Moose stopping 52 shots on the net. Hermantown’s McEwen had 20 saves.







You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply