Northland Sports Online

Amzoil Racing Results 7-12-14

bobby_carlson (640x424)



By Jerry O’Brien 7-12-14 Superior, WI

The schizophrenic nature of the weather Friday night at AMSOIL
Speedway kept everyone on their toes. A gloomy humid day turned into a
bright sunny day, still humid, followed by a veritable monsoon that put paid
to the racing program for the evening.
A nice total of 94 race cars were on hand for the first time in three weeks
including 18 cars in the Late Models, Modifieds and Super Stocks only
outdone by the Midwest Modfiieds and Pure Stocks which produced 20 each.
On a very tacky fast track due to the copious amount of rain that had
fallen over night heat races began with the Midwest Modifieds in three heats.
Skeeter Estey showed he hadn’t forgotten the wa around the speedway as he
took advantage of a slip in turn two by leader Cody Carlson to take the lead
and the win. Jake Gondik fresh off a pair of feature wins at Proctor recently,
his first wins in the division, took the second heat by a good distance over
Deven VanHouse. Brady Caul from F. Francis, Ontario was the third heat
winner over Mack Estey.
Next were three heats for the Super Stocks with the first going to
Hibbing’s Andy Davey over a fast closing Shane Kisling who had started
last. Willie Johnsen, Jr has taken his place as one of the better Super Stock
drivers and showed it with a convincing win over Dave Flynn. Scott
Lawrence won the final heat after a battle with Kevin Burdick.
The Late Models were the next division to run their heats. Cloquet, Esko,
Carlton (CEC) head Hockey Coach Dave Esse brought out his #21e for the
first time and won a duel with T. J. Adams in the first of three heats. Zach
Wohlers took the lead from the second row in heat number two with Cory
Jorgenson in hot pursuit. Jorgenson’s #16 faltered and pulled into the pits
leaving Wohlers with an insurmountable lead Emo, Ontario’s Greg Ferris
finished second. The final heat was a barn burner as Darrell Nelson tracked
down pole sitter and race long leader Trevor Wilson to take the win by about
two feet.
Cody Wolkowski put up his first Modified heat win since moving from
the Midwest Modifieds. The #224 is running one of the WISSOTA Crate
Motors. He stayed ahead of a charging Kelly Estey to take the win. Cory
Jorgenson who, along with Nelson, sometimes does double duty in both a
Late Model and Modified, made up for the Late Model heat with a win in the
second heat over Rick Rivord. Nelson stayed ahead of Al Uotinen in the final
heat by a couple of car lengths for the win.
The skies began to take on an ominous cast as the Pure Stocks were the
final division to qualify. Lucas Carlson pulled off a last corner pass on Ryan
Savoy for the first heat win. Andy Udeen held off Al Rapp who was in the
10x car usually driven by Matt Cunha and a fast closing Mike Blevins. To no
one’s surprise, Dustin Follett was the winner in the final heat of Pure Stocks
over Ryan Madsen. As the checkered flag flew and the last car headed to the
pits, huge rain drops began to fall quickly followed by blinding sheets of rain
that ended the night’s festivities. Since intermission was reached it was called
a complete program. Watch the AMSOIL Speedway website for information
on when the features will be made up.
Results AMSOIL Speedway 7-12-14 (94 cars) Features rained out.

WISSOTA Late Model (18 cars)

Heat 1 : Dave Esse, Cloquet; T. J. Adams Hayward; Tim McMann Duluth;
Kyle Peterlin Hibbing; Aaron Lillo Proctor, Dustin Lunde Saginaw

Heat 2: Zach Wohlers Kelly Lake; Greg Ferris Emo, Ont.; Scott Herrick
Proctor; Robbie Cooper South Range; John Toppozini Thunder Bay DNF:
Cory Jorgenson Hermantown

Heat 3: Darrell Nelson Hermantown; Trevor Wilson Superior; Harry Hanson
Eveleth; Travis Budiaslovich Minneapolis; Terry Lillo Duluth; Todd Gehl
Solon Springs

WISSOTA Modified ( 18 cars)

Heat 1: Cody Wolkowski Thunder Bay; Kelly Estey Kelly Lake; Deven
VanHouse Silver Bay; Scott Heikkinen Eveleth; Kevin Eder Ashland DNF:
E. J. Hietala Cloquet

Heat 2: Cory Jorgenson; Rick Rivord Superior; Jeff Broking Grand Rapids;
Brian Mikkonen Iron River DNF: Pat Cook Washburn; Donnie Lofdahl

Heat 3: Darrell Nelson; Al Uotinen Superior; Jeff Tardy Hibbing; Nikki;
Jody Bellefeuille Duluth; Destin Lorimor Superior; Nikki Wrazidlo Duluth
WISSOTA Super Stock (18 cars)

Heat 1: Andy Davey Hibbing; Shane Kisling Sarona,WI; Don Muzzy
Ironwood; Pat Heikkinen Eveleth; Austin McWilliams Thunder Bay DNF:
Nick Oreskovich Mason

Heat 2: Willie Johnsen, Jr. Superior; Dave Flynn Superior; DJ Keeler
Superior; Keith Kern Superior; Dan Tocheri Kakabaka Falls, Ont. DNF:
Mark Smith Solon Springs

Heat 3: Scott Lawrence Superior; Kevin Burdick Proctor; Jim Campbell Two
Harbors; Tyler Kintner Hibbing; Andy Grymala Superior; Ashley Smith

Pure Stocks (20 cars)

Heat 1: Lucas Carlson Cloquet; Ryan Savoy Superior; Jon Hammitt cloquet;
Glenn Dammer Hermantown; Annika Hammitt Cloquet; Rita Anderson
Superior; Gavin Campbell Duluth

Heat 2: Andy Udeen Superior; Al Rapp Saginaw; Mike Blevins Hibbing;
Chad Nikstad Superior; Jon Hammitt Cloquet; Shaina Rapp Saginaw; Jim
Cooper, Superior

Heat 3: Dustin Follett Cloquet; Ryan Madsen South Range; Zene Anderson
Superior; Josh Johnson Superior; Melissa Blaylock Solon Springs

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply